Wednesday, June 7, 2023
HomeNewsPM Rishi Sunak reinstates Suella Braverman, others in UK Cabinet: Check list

PM Rishi Sunak reinstates Suella Braverman, others in UK Cabinet: Check list


Within hours of taking the office of Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Rishi Sunak has reshuffled the entire British cabinet and announced the names of few of them. However, he has also reinstated few former ministers.

According to the BBC, Suella Braverman has been re-appointed as home secretary. It is to be known that she had resigned from the same role in Liz Truss’s cabinet on 19 October over a ‘mistake’.

Next appointment comes Sunak kept Jeremy Hunt as chancellor, Dominic Raab as deputy prime minister and justice secretary, James Cleverly as foreign secretary, Steve Barclay as health secretary, Ben Wallace as defence secretary, Simon Hart as new chief whip, Nadhim Zahawi as minister without portfolio and party chairman, Gillian Keegan as education secretary, Penny Mordaunt as leader of the House of Commons, Oliver Dowden as Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, Michael Gove as levelling up secretary, Thérèse Coffey as new secretary of state for environment, food and rural affairs and Mel Stride as secretary for the department for work and pensions.

ALSO READ: British PM Rishi Sunak pledges to stabilise economy, here’s his speech minutes

Here’s a listed view:

Name of Minister  Post Alloted
Suella Braverman Home Secretary
Dominic Raab Deputy PM and Justice Secretary
Jeremy Hunt Chancellor of the Exchequer
Simon Hart Chief Whip
James Cleverly Foreign Secretary
Ben Wallace Defence Secretary
Oliver Dowden Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster
Nadhim Zahawi Role not specified as of yet
Grant Shapps Business Secretary
Penny Mordaunt Leader of the House of Commons
Gillian Keegan Education Secretary
Mel Stride Secretary for the Department for Work and Pensions
Thérèse Coffey Secretary of state for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Steve Barclay Health Secretary
Michael Gove Levelling Up Secretary
Kemi Badenoch International Trade Secretary

Other Tory MPs who were seen at the 10 Downing Street, but not announced to be ministers as of yet include: former health secretary and deputy prime minister under Liz Truss – Therese Coffey, Northern Ireland secretary under Liz Truss Chris Heaton-Harris, and former Leader of the House of Commons and Central Devon’s MP Melvyn John Stride.

Soon after Sunak took the office, business secretary Jacob Rees-Mogg was the first to step down, while Brandon Lewis announced he’d be quitting as Justice Secretary. Wendy Morton tweeted that she has resigned her role as chief whip, while Tory Party chairman Jake Berry has also left.

ALSO READ: Kidnap Rishi Sunak and…: Harsh Goenka’s plan to win back Kohinoor

Another set of minister announcing they would quit include Sir Robert Buckland as Wales secretary, levelling up secretary Simon Clarke, Ranil Jayawardena as environment secretary, junior ministers – Vicky Ford and Chloe Smith, and Alok Sharma from his ministerial role.

According to the Ministerial and Other Salaries Act 1975, the prime minister can appoint 22 cabinet ministers.

Catch all the Business News, Market News, Breaking News Events and Latest News Updates on Live Mint.
Download The Mint News App to get Daily Market Updates.



Source link


Most Popular

Recent Comments